We use a session cookie and first-party analytics to run this site — no third-party trackers, no ads. Details in our Privacy Policy.
RESEARCH From the Research Desk — The sub-Rs 100 crore acquisition market, sized. Read it →
✦ Free showcase case — this company is featured on our homepage, so the full dossier is open. Every case gets this depth for subscribers. see plans →
✓ RESOLVED — PLAN APPROVED ● STILL OPERATING · MCA ACTIVE

Aircel Limited

Corporate insolvency resolution — resolution plan approved · Jun 2020

Machinery & equipment manufacturer · public limited company · incorporated 1994 · 23 years old at admission

Sector Electronics & Electricals Bench NCLT Mumbai CIN U32201MH1994PLC284030 Admitted 12 Mar 2018 Initiated by CD — Aircel Ltd. Last process activity 19 Sep 2018 · plans invited (Form G)
Acquired by
UV Asset Reconstruction Company Limited
Named in the NCLT plan-approval order dated 09 Jun 2020, reproduced as printed in that order. · read the order
Where the money went · admission → plan approval
Admitted claimsRs 36,102 Cr
Liquidation valueRs 1,606 Cr
Realised for creditorsRs 6,660 Cr
Haircut to creditors: 81.55% Recovery vs liquidation value: 414.6% — plan beat the liquidation floor In plain terms: the published plan figure provides about 18 paise per Rs 1 of admitted claims
Admitted Claims
Rs 36,101.92Cr
#1 of 41 in sector by size
Published plan realisable
Rs 6,659.60Cr
to claimants
Haircut
81.55%
sector typical 82.5%
Rec vs LV
414.6%
sector typical 127.8%
CIRP Duration
2y 2mo
sector typical 1y 7mo
Beat liquidation?
Yes
71% of sector did

Intelligence note

Admitted to insolvency on 12 Mar 2018 by the Mumbai bench, on the company's own application. A resolution plan from UV Asset Reconstruction Company Limited was approved on 09 Jun 2020, 820 days after admission (median for resolved cases: 631 days). Creditors realise 18.45% of Rs 36,101.92 Cr admitted claims - a haircut of 81.6% against a median of 77.1% across resolutions. The plan is worth 414.6% of the liquidation value of Rs 1,606.27 Cr, so creditors did better than a break-up sale.

Aircel group resolved together (Aircel Ltd + Dishnet + Aircel Cellular); admitted claims & realisable booked under Dishnet, only liquidation value (1606.27) shown here.

Claims at a glance

full split →
FC 68%
OC 32%
Total admitted Rs 36,101.92 Cr

Case details

CIN
U32201MH1994PLC284030
Incorporated
1994
Registered State
Maharashtra
NCLT Bench
Mumbai
Petition
CP (IB) 298/MB/2018
Initiated by
CD — Aircel Ltd.
Commencement
12 Mar 2018
Outcome Date
09 Jun 2020
Admitted Claims
Rs 36,101.92 Cr
Liquidation Value
Rs 1,606.27 Cr
Realisable Amount
Rs 6,659.60 Cr
Recovery vs Claims
18.45%
Recovery vs LV
414.6%

NCLT Mumbai: median 553 days admission → verdict · 34% of concluded matters ended in plan approval (n=1,248, full record) · all benches →

From the plan-approval order

NCLT order of 09 Jun 2020 · full read →
Plan value, as printed
Rs 19,600 crore (combined, as stated by the bench at para 6.3.1(a): amount proposed to be paid by the Resolution Applicant against total outstanding Financial Creditor debt of approximately Rs 58,760 crore across all three …
Upfront
Rs 11 crore equity commitment from the Resolution Applicant collectively (Rs 5 crore each in Aircel Limited and Dishnet Wireless Limited, Rs 1 crore in Aircel Cellular Limited)
Deferred
Zero-Coupon Optionally Convertible Debentures (ZOCDs) amounting to Rs 3750 crore issued for Aircel Limited's verified financial debt (per Annexure C of the Plan), secured by the same security interest as existed before th…
Payout horizon
RA to use all efforts to make payments towards CIRP cost and creditors' payments within five years from the Effective Date; unredeemed ZOCDs at expiry of that period convert to equity
Buyer
ARC
Market test
1 Form G round · 45 EoIs · 2 plans received · negotiation ◆ an earlier plan failed
Reliefs sought
37 asked · 29 granted · 4 left to the authority · 3 declined · 1 not ruled on
Contested
1 objection / queries · 3 conditions imposed by the bench

Recent movement

full timeline →
09 Jun 2020
Resolution plan approved
Acquired by UV Asset Reconstruction Company Limited
Haircut 81.55%
21 Dec 2023
NCLT order
03 Jan 2024
NCLT order
01 Mar 2024
Dismissed - company appeal (at) (ins.) no. 333 & 334 of 2024
NCLAT appeal read the order ↗
13 Feb 2026
NCLT order

Valuations & recovery

Reg 35 valuations vs outcome
Liquidation value
Rs 1,606.27 Cr
Recovery vs liquidation value
414.6%

The plan

from the NCLT plan-approval order
Successful applicant
UV Asset Reconstruction Company Limited
CoC approval
73.88% voting share · 1st meeting · 13 May 2019
How the plan pays
·Total loan outstanding to Financial Creditors across all three companies is approximately Rs58,760 crore; RA proposed to pay Rs19,600 crore - Rs6,630 crore via ZOCDs, balance Rs12,970 crore given up
·Only Rs11 crore is brought upfront by the Resolution Applicant; balance from asset monetisation, primarily sale of right to use spectrum (Rs800 to Rs1300 crore)
·Verified Financial Debt amounting to Rs3750 crore owed to the financial creditors to be converted into Zero-Coupon Optionally Convertible Debentures (ZOCDs)
·76% of Equity shares would be allotted to the Resolution Applicant at face value and the balance 24% to Financial Creditors at premium; the premium is not stated
·RA will use all efforts to make payments towards CIRP cost and creditors payments within five years from the Effective Date; if such payments are not paid, ZOCD will be converted into equity shares
The resolution order · 2020-06-09

Resolution plan approved

U32201MH1994PLC284030 ·
  1. Aircel Limited
  2. Dishnet Wireless Limited
  3. Aircel Cellular Limited

Common order (IA No.1864/2019 in CP(IB) No.298/2018, IA No.1863/2019 in CP(IB) No.302/2018, IA No.1865/2019 in CP(IB) No.300/2018) approving, on an all-or-none basis, the Resolution Plans of Aircel Limited, Dishnet Wireless Limited and Aircel Cellular Limited submitted by UV Asset Reconstruction Company Limited (UVARC).

Explore the plan, creditor treatment and Tribunal directions.

Extracted order information; consult the linked order for authoritative wording. OCR and extraction can contain errors.

Read the source order ↗

18 sections · All recorded details available below

Plan funding & costs
Total plan funding, as printed
Rs 19,600 crore (combined, as stated by the bench at para 6.3.1(a): amount proposed to be paid by the Resolution Applicant against total outstanding Financial Creditor debt of approximately Rs 58,760 crore across all three corporate applicants; of this Rs 19,600 crore, approximately Rs 6,630 crore is by way of ZOCDs and the balance Rs 12,970 crore is given up)
Upfront amount, as printed
Rs 11 crore equity commitment from the Resolution Applicant collectively (Rs 5 crore each in Aircel Limited and Dishnet Wireless Limited, Rs 1 crore in Aircel Cellular Limited)
Deferred amount, as printed
Zero-Coupon Optionally Convertible Debentures (ZOCDs) amounting to Rs 3750 crore issued for Aircel Limited's verified financial debt (per Annexure C of the Plan), secured by the same security interest as existed before the Effective Date; combined ZOCD figure across all three corporate applicants stated by the bench as approximately Rs 6,630 crore
Payout horizon as printed
RA to use all efforts to make payments towards CIRP cost and creditors' payments within five years from the Effective Date; unredeemed ZOCDs at expiry of that period convert to equity
Plan term as printed
Five years from the Effective Date (ZOCD redemption/implementation period)
CIRP cost, as printed
Rs 298.48 crore approximately (total CIRP cost of all three corporate applicants combined, as mentioned in the Resolution Plan)
Cirp cost treatment
CIRP costs to be paid from Available Funds in priority to any other creditor (Clause 6.2); part already paid from the Rs 639 crore recovered through Supreme Court litigation during CIRP
Units note
Stakeholder-payment tables and most money figures are printed in crore rupees (Rs ); a few figures (e.g. the RP-stated verified/admitted financial debt at the time of filing) are printed in full absolute rupee amounts with words in parenthesis, e.g. Rs 19788,77,30,929/-.
Who is owed & what the plan provides18 entries

Stakeholder-payment tables and most money figures are printed in crore rupees (Rs ); a few figures (e.g. the RP-stated verified/admitted financial debt at the time of filing) are printed in full absolute rupee amounts with words in parenthesis, e.g. Rs 19788,77,30,929/-.

Body of order · 18 rows

StakeholderClaims submittedClaims admittedPlan provisionPercentage & basis
Financial creditorsSecured (Aircel Limited)19,570.3719,445.713750.0018.83% (of amount claimed); 18.95% (of amount admitted)both printed separately (of claimed and of admitted)
Financial creditorsUnsecured (Aircel Limited)343.06343.06[Note 1] entire balance of verified financial debt after reducing ZOCD amount converted into equity shares
Operational creditorsOperational Creditors including Govt dues (Aircel Limited)17,462.793,128.89 [Note 2: excludes Rs 5,460.82 crore verified as contingent claim]28.500.16% (of amount claimed); 0.91% (of amount admitted)both printed separately (of claimed and of admitted)
EmployeesEmployees (Aircel Limited)261.8136.180.600.23% (of amount claimed); 1.66% (of amount admitted)both printed separately (of claimed and of admitted)
Other debtsOther debts (Aircel Limited)457.58450.48 [Note 3: excludes Rs 404.62 crore verified as contingent claim]0.500.11% (of amount claimed); 1.09% (of amount admitted)both printed separately (of claimed and of admitted)
TotalTotal (Aircel Limited)38,095.6122,999.703,779.60
Financial creditorsSecured (Dishnet Wireless Limited)19614.0719,488.732,830.0014.43% (of amount claimed); 14.52% (of amount admitted)both printed separately (of claimed and of admitted)
Financial creditorsUnsecured (Dishnet Wireless Limited)4.024.02[Note 1] entire balance of verified financial debt after reducing ZOCD amount converted into equity shares
Operational creditorsOperational Creditors including Govt dues (Dishnet Wireless Limited)16,689.603,925.93 [Note 2: excludes Rs 5,460.82 crore verified as contingent claim]27.260.16% (of amount claimed); 1.48% (of amount admitted)both printed separately (of claimed and of admitted)
EmployeesEmployees (Dishnet Wireless Limited)199.8019.910.330.17% (of amount claimed); 1.66% (of amount admitted)both printed separately (of claimed and of admitted)
Other debtsOther debts (Dishnet Wireless Limited)435.64422.52 [Note 3: excludes Rs 404.62 crore verified as contingent claim]0.650.15% (of amount claimed); 1.07% (of amount admitted)both printed separately (of claimed and of admitted)
TotalTotal (Dishnet Wireless Limited)36,943.1321,411.742,858.24
Financial creditorsSecured (Aircel Cellular Limited)19610.0519484.7150.000.25% (of amount claimed); 0.26% (of amount admitted)both printed separately (of claimed and of admitted)
Financial creditorsUnsecured (Aircel Cellular Limited)0.000.00[Note 1] entire balance of verified financial debt after reducing ZOCD amount converted into equity shares
Operational creditorsOperational Creditors including Govt dues (Aircel Cellular Limited)2,703.9627.85 [Note 2: excludes Rs 1,384.18 crore verified as contingent claim]0.250.01% (of amount claimed); 0.90% (of amount admitted)both printed separately (of claimed and of admitted)
EmployeesEmployees (Aircel Cellular Limited)10.350.640.010.10% (of amount claimed); 1.56% (of amount admitted)both printed separately (of claimed and of admitted)
Other debtsOther debts (Aircel Cellular Limited)182.11181.86 [Note 3: excludes Rs 178.61 crore verified as contingent claim]0.040.02% (of amount claimed); 1.23% (of amount admitted)both printed separately (of claimed and of admitted)
TotalTotal (Aircel Cellular Limited)22,506.4719,516.4550.30
Payment & implementation schedule5 entries
  1. Seq
    1
    Beneficiary
    CIRP costs (all three corporate applicants combined)
    Amount as printed
    Rs 298.48 crore approximately
    Timing as printed
    Paid in priority to all other debts from Available Funds
  2. Seq
    2
    Beneficiary
    Expense Reserve corpus
    Amount as printed
    Rs 72 crore
    Timing as printed
    Created for meeting various expenses of operating the scaled-down businesses
  3. Seq
    3
    Beneficiary
    Workmen (all three corporate applicants combined)
    Amount as printed
    Rs 94.1 lakh, or the liquidation values, whichever is higher
  4. Seq
    4
    Beneficiary
    Operational Creditors other than workmen (all three corporate applicants combined)
    Amount as printed
    Rs 45.25 crore, or the liquidation values, whichever is higher
  5. Seq
    5
    Beneficiary
    Financial Creditors (ZOCD redemption, combined)
    Amount as printed
    Rs 6,630 crore approximately
    Timing as printed
    Redeemed in entirety over a period of five years from Available Funds and Generated Funds
Resolution applicant & funding
Entity type
ARC
Sources of funds
Available Funds (funds lying with the corporate applicants as on the Effective Date, including refund of Rs 298.01 crore by DoT and return of bank guarantee of Rs 453.73 crore from Bharti Airtel to Aircel Limited and Dishnet Wireless Limited pursuant to Supreme Court order dated 29.11.2018, and Rs 639 crore already recovered from litigation); Generated Funds (proceeds from monetisation of assets not required for scaled-down operations, realisation of claims/litigations, and monetisation of carry-forward losses/unabsorbed depreciation); Infused Funds (Rs 11 crore upfront equity commitment from UVARC across the three corporate applicants, of which Rs 5 crore each for Aircel Limited and Dishnet Wireless Limited and Rs 1 crore for Aircel Cellular Limited).
Post plan management
Existing suspended Board of Directors of each corporate applicant deemed to have resigned effective from the date of the order. Interim Monitoring Committee (Approval Date to Effective Date) of 3 members: 1 Financial Creditor representative, 1 representative of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu India LLP, 1 RA representative. On the Effective Date a new Board of Directors is to be constituted with 3 directors nominated by the RA, 1 independent director nominated by mutual agreement between RA and FCs, and 1 FC-nominated director with affirmative voting rights; the Monitoring Committee is then reconstituted with 3 FC representatives (affirmative voting rights), 1 Deloitte representative and 3 RA representatives.
Business & treatment of stakeholders
Operational creditors
Combined Rs 45.25 crore proposed (excluding workmen) against admitted claims across the three corporate applicants, or liquidation value whichever is higher; entity-wise figures per the stakeholder-payment tables.
Workmen employees
Corporate applicants have no workmen; for employees, Rs 94.1 lakh (or liquidation values, whichever higher) proposed against a total verified claim of about Rs 56.73 crore combined, of which about 97% pertains to performance-linked/other incentives (bonus) for the pre-CIRP period; salaries stated to have been paid in full.
Litigation carveout
All pending winding-up proceedings and other proceedings for the period prior to the Approval Date stand extinguished; new proceedings relating to the pre-Effective-Date period are barred (reliefs 9.1.16 and 9.1.25); relief limited to matters prior to Approval Date, with the corporate applicants (as controlled by the RA) responsible for post-approval conduct.
Group entities
The three corporate applicants (Aircel Limited, Dishnet Wireless Limited, Aircel Cellular Limited) were treated on an all-or-none, group basis owing to interweave of businesses, common 'Aircel' brand, obligor/co-obligor debt structure, common IT/technical infrastructure, common CIRP conduct, and an identical CoC constitution save that Standard Chartered Bank is an additional Financial Creditor only in Aircel Limited.
Assets description
Telecom business spread across twenty-three circles in India, with about 53,761 Base Transceiver Stations, 143 Mobile Switching Centres and 433 Base Station Controllers; approximately 14,500 km of optical fibre network; 2G/3G spectrum licences (Right to Use spectrum under 1800 MHz and 2100 MHz).
Going concern status
Corporate applicants to continue on a low-capex, scaled-down going-concern basis, retaining bulk SMS, data centre and tower-leasing businesses (expected to generate Rs 69 crore, Rs 96 crore and Rs 125 crore in years one to three respectively); other assets (fibre, real estate, towers, equipment, spectrum) to be monetised.
Bidding, professionals & process
RP replaced the IRP
No
Invitations for expressions of interest
  1. Round no
    1
    Eoi last date
    2018-12-07
    Expressions of interest received
    45
    Final list count
    20
    Plans received
    2
    Outcome
    plan approved
Applicants considered
  1. Name
    UV Asset Reconstruction Company Limited
    Stage reached
    approved
    Outcome note
    Sole remaining Resolution Applicant after Eight Capital's withdrawal; plan approved by CoC at its 19th meeting on 13.05.2019 and approved by NCLT for all three corporate applicants.
  2. Name
    Eight Capital Advisory Services Private Limited
    Stage reached
    withdrawn
    Outcome note
    Withdrew its Resolution Plan after the first round of discussions, in which various concerns were raised on compliance of its plan with IBC provisions and regulations (para 2.7.3).
Bidding mechanism
negotiation
Evaluation matrix present
Yes
Clock events
  1. Kind
    exclusion
    Days
    30
    Granted date
    2018-08-09
    Reason
    Exclusion of 30 days from the CIRP period, granted in MA No.754/2018.
  2. Kind
    extension
    Days
    90
    Granted date
    2018-10-16
    Reason
    Extension of the CIRP period by 90 days under section 12(3) of the IBC, granted in MA No.1137/2018.
  3. Kind
    exclusion
    Granted date
    2018-10-16
    Reason
    Period during which the application (MA No.1137/2018) remained pending before the Adjudicating Authority, from 03.10.2018 to 15.10.2018, directed to be excluded from the CIRP period (day count not stated as a figure in the order).
Advisors
  1. Role
    Registered valuer
    Name
    RBSA Valuation Advisors LLP
    Note
    Determined liquidation value and fair value of the corporate applicants under regulations 27 and 35 of the CIRP Regulations, 2016.
  2. Role
    Registered valuer
    Name
    Duff & Phelps India Private Limited
    Note
    Determined liquidation value and fair value of the corporate applicants under regulations 27 and 35 of the CIRP Regulations, 2016.
  3. Role
    Process Advisor
    Name
    Alvarez & Marsal India Private Limited
    Note
    CIN U74140MH2007PTC234641; appointed by CoC at its meeting on 06.06.2018 to evaluate resolution plans; prepared viability and feasibility report tabled before CoC on 25.03.2019.
  4. Role
    Monitoring Committee representative
    Name
    Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu India LLP
    Note
    LLP Identification No. AAE-8458; provides one representative on both the interim and reconstituted Monitoring Committee.
Creditor votes12 entries
  1. Creditor
    AB Svensk Exportkredit
    Creditor class
    financial_creditor
    Voting pct
    2.70
    Vote
    not stated
  2. Creditor
    Bank of Baroda
    Creditor class
    financial_creditor
    Voting pct
    10.50
    Vote
    not stated
  3. Creditor
    Canara Bank
    Creditor class
    financial_creditor
    Voting pct
    9.70
    Vote
    not stated
  4. Creditor
    China Development Bank Corporation
    Creditor class
    financial_creditor
    Voting pct
    13.70
    Vote
    not stated
  5. Creditor
    Exim Bank
    Creditor class
    financial_creditor
    Voting pct
    2.20
    Vote
    not stated
  6. Creditor
    Jammu & Kashmir Bank
    Creditor class
    financial_creditor
    Voting pct
    1.70
    Vote
    not stated
  7. Creditor
    L&T Infrastructure Finance Limited
    Creditor class
    financial_creditor
    Voting pct
    1.10
    Vote
    not stated
  8. Creditor
    Nordic Investment Bank
    Creditor class
    financial_creditor
    Voting pct
    2.80
    Vote
    not stated
  9. Creditor
    Punjab National Bank
    Creditor class
    financial_creditor
    Voting pct
    15.10
    Vote
    not stated
  10. Creditor
    Standard Chartered Bank
    Creditor class
    financial_creditor
    Voting pct
    1.70
    Vote
    not stated
  11. Creditor
    State Bank of India
    Creditor class
    financial_creditor
    Voting pct
    36.60
    Vote
    not stated
  12. Creditor
    Syndicate Bank
    Creditor class
    financial_creditor
    Voting pct
    2.10
    Vote
    not stated
Composition of the committee
Table at para 2.3.1 is the original CoC constitution/voting-share table (12 FCs, total 100.00%), later revised on 09.05.2019 upon receipt of new/revised claims (revised figures not printed as a table). Department of Telecommunications (DoT) invited to and has attended CoC meetings from the third meeting (06.06.2018) onward, without raising reservations, but is not shown as a voting FC. GTL Infrastructure Limited, one CoC member, abstained from the 02.01.2019 vote on whether to consider late-filed plans, and the RP has since classified GTL Infrastructure Limited as an Operational Creditor rather than a Financial Creditor (para 2.7.2).
Ownership after resolution
Business & treatment of stakeholders
Existing equity and preference share capital of each corporate applicant to stand extinguished for NIL consideration (capital reduction). Fresh equity issued to the RA at face value without premium (76%). A portion of verified financial debt (reduced by the Debenture Verified Financial Debt) converted into equity issued to Financial Creditors at a premium, reflected in the share premium account (24%); premium amount not stated. If ZOCDs remain unredeemed after five years they convert into equity such that Financial Creditors collectively hold 74% and the RA 26%.
Capital reduction
Yes
Merger or amalgamation
Yes
Post plan shareholding
  1. Holder
    Resolution Applicant (UVARC)
    After
    76% (or 26% if unredeemed ZOCDs are fully converted to equity after five years)
  2. Holder
    Financial Creditors
    After
    24% (or 74% if unredeemed ZOCDs are fully converted to equity after five years)
Implementation & monitoring
Monitoring committee
Interim Monitoring Committee (Approval Date to Effective Date): 3 members — 1 Financial Creditor representative, 1 representative of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu India LLP, 1 Resolution Applicant representative; stands dissolved on the Effective Date. Reconstituted Monitoring Committee (from Effective Date): 3 Financial Creditor representatives (with affirmative voting rights), 1 Deloitte representative, 3 Resolution Applicant representatives, for advising and making recommendations to the reconstituted board of directors on implementation.
Monitoring committee members
  1. Role
    Financial Creditor representative (interim Monitoring Committee)
  2. Name
    Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu India LLP
    Role
    Representative on interim and reconstituted Monitoring Committee (LLP Identification No. AAE-8458)
  3. Role
    Resolution Applicant representative (interim Monitoring Committee)
Reliefs requested & Tribunal decisions37 entries
  1. Seq
    1
    Relief
    Neither the Resolution Applicant nor its Affiliates shall be disqualified/ineligible under the Code for proposing/implementing a plan for any other person merely on account of implementing this Resolution Plan.
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    granted
  2. Seq
    2
    Relief
    Dispensation from obtaining NOC under section 281 of the Income-tax Act, 1961 and predecessor-liability under section 170; deemed waiver of requirements under sections 79 and 115B of the Income Tax Act.
    Category
    tax
    Disposition
    granted
  3. Seq
    3
    Relief
    Corporate Debtor to be treated as a widely held company under section 79 read with section 2(18) of the Income Tax Act; change in shareholding pursuant to the Plan not to cause lapse of carried-forward losses.
    Category
    tax
    Disposition
    granted
  4. Seq
    4
    Relief
    CBEC directed not to void transactions under the Plan under section 81 of the CGST Act, 2017 and not to impose successor liability on the RA.
    Category
    tax
    Disposition
    granted
  5. Seq
    5
    Relief
    Corporate Debtor and RA not required to deal with Dissenting Financial Creditors otherwise than as provided in the Code.
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    granted
  6. Seq
    6
    Relief
    Dispensation from requirement to add 'and reduced' to the Corporate Debtor's name on account of share-capital reduction.
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    infructuous
    Reason
    This requirement no longer exists under the Companies Act, 2013; it existed only under section 102(2)(a) & 102(3) of the Companies Act, 1956.
  7. Seq
    7
    Relief
    Deemed waiver of procedural requirements under sections 66, 42 and 62(1)(c) of the Companies Act and the NCLT (Procedure for Reduction of Share Capital) Rules, 2016 for reduction of share capital and issuance of equity to the RA.
    Category
    licences_approvals
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    Explanation below section 30(2)(f), inserted by the IBC (Second Amendment) Act, 2018 w.e.f. 06.06.2018, deems any shareholder approval required under the Companies Act or other law to have been given.
  8. Seq
    8
    Relief
    NCLT approval to constitute adequate and final approval for cancellation of existing share capital and issuance of new equity/preference/convertible securities, i.e. single-window clearance.
    Category
    licences_approvals
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    Same statutory explanation below section 30(2)(f) as at seq 7.
  9. Seq
    9
    Relief
    All Relevant Authorities (including RBI) to waive all non-compliances of the Corporate Debtor prior to the Effective Date, with permanent extinguishment of related penalties/liabilities/claims, plus a prospective 12-month waiver from the day after the Effective Date.
    Category
    statutory_dues
    Disposition
    declined
    Reason
    This in effect amounts to (1) extension of the period of moratorium and (2) encouragement to violate the law, both of which cannot be accepted. From the Appointed Date, the RA shall be responsible for all compliances with law.
  10. Seq
    10
    Relief
    All actions under the Plan deemed exempt from all taxes, levies, fees, transfer charges, transfer premiums and surcharges arising from or relating to implementation of the Plan.
    Category
    tax
    Disposition
    declined
    Reason
    No such blanket approval can be given; the RA is free to bring specific matters to the notice of the Adjudicating Authority for a decision thereon.
  11. Seq
    11
    Relief
    RA (and Affiliates) and future buyers of Assets including Right to Use Spectrum and AL Fibre/IE Business not to be liable for criminal proceedings against the Corporate Debtor or its former promoters/shareholders/directors/employees/officers, before or after the Approval Date.
    Category
    32A
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    Granted in terms of section 32A of the IBC, inserted by the IBC (Amendment) Act, 2020, notified 13.03.2020 with retrospective effect from 28.12.2019.
  12. Seq
    12
    Relief
    Registration/Stamps authorities of Andhra Pradesh, Delhi, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan and other States, and the Ministry of Corporate Affairs, to exempt the RA and Corporate Debtor from stamp duty and fees applicable to implementation of the Plan including issuance/conversion of ZOCDs and Equity Shares.
    Category
    stamp_duty
    Disposition
    declined
    Reason
    No such blanket approval can be given; it is the duty of the RA and the corporate debtor to comply with the provisions of the Stamp Act of the respective States.
  13. Seq
    13
    Relief
    Moratorium against actions/penalties for non-compliance to continue from Approval Date to Effective Date and beyond; deemed waiver from all actions/proceedings/penalties post Effective Date.
    Category
    32A
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    Granted in terms of section 32A of the IBC, inserted by the IBC (Amendment) Act, 2020, notified 13.03.2020 with retrospective effect from 28.12.2019.
  14. Seq
    14
    Relief
    Renewal, by respective Relevant Authorities including DoT, of all lapsed/expired Business Permits with effect from the Approval Date, and continuation of operations pending such renewal.
    Category
    licences_approvals
    Disposition
    deferred_to_authority
    Reason
    The RA shall make necessary applications to the concerned regulatory/statutory authorities for renewal; such authorities shall consider the same keeping in mind the objectives of the IBC and that the RA is acquiring the corporate debtors on a going-concern basis.
  15. Seq
    15
    Relief
    Waiver of authority action for suspended/cancelled/revoked/threatened Business Permits or breach of Applicable Law prior to the Plan; bar on post-Approval-Date investigations/actions for such prior non-compliance.
    Category
    licences_approvals
    Disposition
    deferred_to_authority
    Reason
    Same reasoning as seq 14 — RA to make necessary applications; authorities to consider in light of IBC objectives and going-concern basis.
  16. Seq
    16
    Relief
    Withdrawal/dismissal, from the Approval Date, of all pending inquiries/investigations/proceedings/suits/claims/disputes concerning the Corporate Debtor for any period prior to the Approval Date, with related liabilities extinguished; bar on new proceedings for the pre-Effective-Date period.
    Category
    litigation_immunity
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    Granted subject to the condition that this pertains only to matters relating to the period prior to the Approval Date; from the Approval Date, the corporate applicants (now controlled by the RA) shall be responsible for their own conduct for the period after approval.
  17. Seq
    17
    Relief
    No Governmental Authority (including regulatory, judicial or quasi-judicial) to issue orders/directions/decrees/judgments contravening the provisions of the Plan.
    Category
    licences_approvals
    Disposition
    deferred_to_authority
    Reason
    Same reasoning as seq 14 — RA to make necessary applications; authorities to consider in light of IBC objectives and going-concern basis.
  18. Seq
    18
    Relief
    Approvals required from Governmental Authorities (including Tax authorities) in connection with implementation of the Plan, including on account of change in ownership/control, deemed granted on the Approval Date.
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    granted
  19. Seq
    19
    Relief
    Unrestricted access to Assets: lessors/owners of premises where the Company conducts business to provide unrestricted access to the RA, the Company and their representatives without holding assets for ransom.
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    granted
  20. Seq
    20
    Relief
    All actions under the Plan deemed approved; implementation not to be a ground for termination of Business Permits granted or applied for.
    Category
    licences_approvals
    Disposition
    deferred_to_authority
    Reason
    Same reasoning as seq 14 — RA to make necessary applications; authorities to consider in light of IBC objectives and going-concern basis.
  21. Seq
    21
    Relief
    Continuity, without disruption, of all consents/licences/approvals/rights/entitlements/benefits/privileges of the Company (notwithstanding lapse/expiry due to non-compliance or efflux of time), for the benefit of the Company and RA, given the going-concern acquisition.
    Category
    licences_approvals
    Disposition
    granted
  22. Seq
    22
    Relief
    Deemed termination of all contracts (save specified DoT licences/permissions for spectrum, AL Fibre and IE Business, and telecom tower contracts) with permanent extinguishment of related liabilities/claims/damages.
    Category
    contracts
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    The RA shall make formal applications to the concerned regulatory/statutory authorities for renewal of business permits, and such authority shall grant approval keeping in mind the IBC objectives and going-concern basis.
  23. Seq
    23
    Relief
    Corporate Debtor allowed to enjoy/avail future tax benefits, deductions and exemptions it was entitled to before commencement of CIRP, for the balance period under Applicable Law.
    Category
    tax
    Disposition
    granted
  24. Seq
    24
    Relief
    Direction that non-compliances under the Companies Act (including sections 185 and 186) be regularised and related penalties waived.
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    granted
  25. Seq
    25
    Relief
    On Approval Date, all pending winding-up proceedings against the Corporate Debtor to stand extinguished irrevocably and unconditionally; deemed waiver by all creditors/authorities/employees/workmen of termination rights and rights to payment beyond the Plan.
    Category
    litigation_immunity
    Disposition
    granted
  26. Seq
    26
    Relief
    RA and Company not liable towards claims/obligations relating to subsidiaries/associate companies (including guarantees issued for them); such guarantees/supports/credit comforts/put options/indemnities to stand irrevocably withdrawn for no consideration.
    Category
    guarantees
    Disposition
    granted
  27. Seq
    27
    Relief
    Extinguishment of any security/guarantee/indemnity/pledge/charge/encumbrance or other collateral created in connection with any Financial or Operational Debt (or other debt/obligation) of the Company prior to the Approval Date, including subrogation rights, subject to simultaneous creation of Debenture Security Interest under Clause 5 of the Plan.
    Category
    guarantees
    Disposition
    granted
  28. Seq
    28
    Relief
    Extinguishment of any call option, put option or right of pre-emption (including right of first refusal/first offer) against the Company.
    Category
    contracts
    Disposition
    granted
  29. Seq
    29
    Relief
    Exemption of Corporate Debtor from providing notice period or payment in lieu of notice to employees terminated/laid off as part of the scaled-down operations, notwithstanding contractual notice-period terms.
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    conditional
    Reason
    While layoffs as part of scaling down are permitted, it shall be the duty of the RA and corporate debtors to ensure that the terms of such laid-off employees are respected and honoured in terms of payments and notices.
  30. Seq
    30
    Relief
    All approvals/actions required under Applicable Law for implementation of the Plan, including AL Fibre and IE Transaction or Spectrum Transaction or sale of any other Asset, deemed waived/taken upon NCLT approval.
    Category
    licences_approvals
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    Granted, considering that DoT was represented in all CoC meetings from the 3rd meeting onwards, and the Resolution Plan was considered in DoT's presence with no objection raised.
  31. Seq
    31
    Relief
    Transfer of Right to Use Spectrum to any Proposed Spectrum Buyer free of any Encumbrance, including any Encumbrance from DoT.
    Category
    licences_approvals
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    Granted, considering that DoT was represented in all CoC meetings from the 3rd meeting onwards, and the Resolution Plan was considered in DoT's presence with no objection raised.
  32. Seq
    32
    Relief
    Waiver of tax on account of writing back/reduction of any debt pursuant to the Plan.
    Category
    tax
    Disposition
    granted
  33. Seq
    33
    Relief
    DoT to approve implementation of the Plan, including the Spectrum Transaction and AL Fibre and Business Transaction, if such approval is required.
    Category
    licences_approvals
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    Granted, considering that DoT was represented in all CoC meetings from the 3rd meeting onwards, and the Resolution Plan was considered in DoT's presence with no objection raised.
  34. Seq
    34
    Relief
    No consent from contracting parties or Governmental Authority required for implementing the Plan including the AL Fibre and IE Business Transaction, deemed in place post NCLT approval.
    Category
    contracts
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    The RA shall make formal applications to the concerned regulatory/statutory authorities for renewal of business permits, and such authority shall grant approval keeping in mind IBC objectives and going-concern basis.
  35. Seq
    35
    Relief
    Exemption of the Corporate Debtor, RA and Financial Creditors from compliance with Companies Act or RBI regulations applicable to ZOCDs, given that ZOCDs are being issued as part of the Plan.
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    The RA shall make formal applications to the concerned regulatory/statutory authorities for renewal of business permits, and such authority shall grant approval keeping in mind IBC objectives and going-concern basis.
  36. Seq
    36
    Relief
    All concessions and reliefs including extinguishment of liabilities sought by the RA in Clause 6 (Treatment of Various Stakeholders) and Clause 5 (Implementation Schedule, Supervision of Implementation and Term).
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    granted
  37. Seq
    37
    Relief
    Clause 9 to be read in harmony with, and without prejudice to, Clauses 5 and 6 of the Plan.
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    granted
Section 32A protection
granted
Objections & their outcome1 entries
  1. Objector
    Bench (suo motu critical analysis)
    Objector class
    bench_itself
    Ground
    Extensive critical analysis at paras 6.3.1–6.3.10, including: FCs to recover only ~Rs 19,600 crore against ~Rs 58,760 crore outstanding with ~Rs 12,970 crore given up; only Rs 11 crore brought upfront by the RA; unclear premium on 24% FC equity; questionable revival of extinguished security for ZOCDs; income-tax carry-forward benefit doubtful given scaled-down operations; and a set of internal contradictions in the Plan (see flags/flag_evidence).
    Disposition
    not_adjudicated
    Effect on approval
    None — despite the criticism, the Plan was approved, the bench holding (per K. Sashidhar and Essar Steel) that it cannot reverse the CoC's commercial wisdom once satisfied that section 30(2) parameters and going-concern/value-maximisation/stakeholder-interest considerations were addressed.
Clarifications before approval2 entries
  1. Date
    2019-03-30
    What
    RA (UVARC) submitted a revised Resolution Plan following discussions at the CoC meeting of 25.03.2019, found compliant with the IBC.
  2. Date
    2019-05-14
    What
    RA submitted a further letter (the 'Addendum Letter') responding to specific concerns raised by CoC participants at the meeting of 30.03.2019.
Tribunal findings & conditions
Conditions imposed
  1. Condition
    RA to make formal applications to the concerned regulatory/statutory authorities for renewal of Business Permits/DoT approvals, rather than relying on any blanket deeming provision.
    Addressed to
    Resolution Applicant
  2. Condition
    RA and corporate debtors to respect and honour payment/notice terms for laid-off employees notwithstanding exemption from formal notice-period compliance.
    Addressed to
    Resolution Applicant
  3. Condition
    RA to be responsible for all compliances with law from the Appointed Date onward; no blanket prospective waiver of non-compliance granted.
    Addressed to
    Resolution Applicant
Precedents cited
  1. Case
    K. Sashidhar v Indian Overseas Bank & Others, (2019) 12 SCC 150 (decided 05.02.2019)
    Proposition
    NCLT/NCLAT is not endowed with jurisdiction to analyse or evaluate the commercial decision of the CoC; the commercial wisdom of financial creditors, individually or collectively, is non-justiciable.
  2. Case
    Committee of Creditors of Essar Steel India Limited v Satish Kumar Gupta & Others, (2019) SCC OnLine SC 1478 (decided 15.11.2019)
    Proposition
    The Adjudicating Authority cannot interfere on merits with the CoC's commercial decision, but limited judicial review lies to see that the CoC considered going-concern status, value maximisation of assets, and the interests of all stakeholders including operational creditors; if not, the plan may be sent back to the CoC.
Judicial observations
  1. This is intriguing, to say the least. (p.40)
  2. We are afraid that the Resolution Applicant may generate very negligible amount from actual business operations for three years as stated above. Therefore, this logic also appears to be flawed. (p.42)
  3. A bare reading of this entire proposal is very optimistic at best and comes with lot of uncertainties. Therefore, the plan does not appear to a Resolution plan but appears to be a winding up, liquidation plan while just retaining a small portion of the business operations of the corporate applicants. (p.43)
Directives to third parties
DoT and other Relevant Authorities directed to consider renewal of business permits/approvals for the Spectrum and AL Fibre/IE Business transactions keeping in mind IBC objectives and the going-concern basis of acquisition; Departments of Registration and Stamps and the Ministry of Corporate Affairs across multiple States declined a blanket stamp-duty exemption and instead directed compliance with the respective State Stamp Acts.
Other applications disposed of2 entries
  1. Case number
    IA No.1863/2019 in CP (IB) No.302/2018 (Dishnet Wireless Limited)
    Outcome line
    Resolution Plan of Dishnet Wireless Limited approved together with Aircel Limited and Aircel Cellular Limited by this common order.
  2. Case number
    IA No.1865/2019 in CP (IB) No.300/2018 (Aircel Cellular Limited)
    Outcome line
    Resolution Plan of Aircel Cellular Limited approved together with Aircel Limited and Dishnet Wireless Limited by this common order.
Identity & order dates
Companies named in the order
  1. Aircel Limited
  2. Dishnet Wireless Limited
  3. Aircel Cellular Limited
Order date
2020-06-09
Further order information
The Note 2 and Note 3 contingent-claim exclusion figures (Rs 5,460.82 crore and Rs 404.62 crore respectively) are printed identically for both the Aircel Limited and Dishnet Wireless Limited stakeholder tables despite the two companies otherwise having distinct claimed/admitted totals; captured verbatim as printed, per R4/R5, without reconciliation. The CoC voting-share table at para 2.3.1 reflects the original constitution and was revised on 09.05.2019 upon receipt/revision of claims; the revised table is not printed in the order.

EoI / Form-G detail

published 19 Sep 2018
Plan submission by
19 Nov 2018
IBBI remark: 5- Date Extended
Form-G rounds — plans invited 2 times since May 2018
RoundForm G EoI last dateFinal PRA list Plans due
2 · latest19 Sep 201819 Nov 2018
102 May 201801 Jul 2018

Case timeline

20 Nov 2017
Withdrawn
NCLT order · C P NO 1432 MAH 2017 read the order ↗
12 Mar 2018
CIRP commenced
Insolvency proceedings began · NCLT Mumbai
12 Mar 2018
IRP
11 Apr 2018
RP
15 further events in between
17 May 2018
NCLT order
MA 336 2018 IN C P IB 298 MB 2018 read the order ↗
16 Oct 2018
NCLT order
MA 1075 2018 IN CP IB 298 MB 2018
27 Nov 2019
License
NCLT order · MA 337 2018 IN C P IB 298 MB 2018 read the order ↗
04 Mar 2020
Dismissed-limitation
NCLAT appeal · CA AT INS NO 378 OF 2020 read the order ↗
09 Jun 2020
Resolution plan approved
Acquired by UV Asset Reconstruction Company Limited
Haircut 81.55%
28 Jun 2021
NCLT order
02 Aug 2021
NCLT order
27 Aug 2021
NCLT order
20 Jan 2022
NCLT order
22 Feb 2022
NCLT order
13 Apr 2022
NCLT order
02 May 2022
NCLT order
05 Aug 2022
NCLT order
11 Oct 2022
NCLT order
10 May 2023
NCLT order
12 Sep 2023
NCLT order
18 Sep 2023
NCLT order
21 Dec 2023
NCLT order
03 Jan 2024
NCLT order
01 Mar 2024
Dismissed - company appeal (at) (ins.) no. 333 & 334 of 2024
NCLAT appeal read the order ↗
13 Feb 2026
NCLT order
2 years 2 months elapsed · admission → resolution

Company

MCA master · as on 12 Jun 2026
Legal name
AIRCEL LIMITED
Type
Public · Company limited by shares
Listing
Unlisted
Incorporated
20 Dec 1994
Authorised capital
Rs 20,000.00 Cr
Paid-up capital
Rs 8,334.77 Cr
Industry (MCA)
Manufacturing (Machinery and Equipments)
ROC
ROC Mumbai
Company status
Active — company survived resolution
Registered address
OPUS CENTRE, 47, CENTRAL ROAD OPPOSITE TUNGA PARADISE, MIDC,ANDHERI E,Mumbai City,Maharashtra,400093-India

Claims profile

creditor-class split
Admitted claims by creditor class
FC 68%
OC 32%
CLASS
ADMITTED
Financial creditors
Rs 19,831.79 Cr
Operational creditors
Rs 9,151.50 Cr
Total
Rs 36,101.92 Cr

Committee of creditors

As recorded in the plan-approval order of 09 Jun 2020
CreditorClassVoting shareVoteAdmitted, as printed
AB Svensk Exportkreditfinancial_creditor2.70%not stated
Bank of Barodafinancial_creditor10.50%not stated
Canara Bankfinancial_creditor9.70%not stated
China Development Bank Corporationfinancial_creditor13.70%not stated
Exim Bankfinancial_creditor2.20%not stated
Jammu & Kashmir Bankfinancial_creditor1.70%not stated
L&T Infrastructure Finance Limitedfinancial_creditor1.10%not stated
Nordic Investment Bankfinancial_creditor2.80%not stated
Punjab National Bankfinancial_creditor15.10%not stated
Standard Chartered Bankfinancial_creditor1.70%not stated
State Bank of Indiafinancial_creditor36.60%not stated
Syndicate Bankfinancial_creditor2.10%not stated
Table at para 2.3.1 is the original CoC constitution/voting-share table (12 FCs, total 100.00%), later revised on 09.05.2019 upon receipt of new/revised claims (revised figures not printed as a table). Department of Telecommunications (DoT) invited to and has attended CoC meetings from the third meeting (06.06.2018) onward, without raising reservations, but is not shown as a voting FC. GTL Infrastructure Limited, one CoC member, abstained from the 02.01.2019 vote on whether to consider late-filed plans, and the RP has since classified GTL Infrastructure Limited as an Operational Creditor rather than a Financial Creditor (para 2.7.2).
Sources, basis and disclaimers → ·
report an error
This case vs Electronics & Electricals
Haircut81.6%
typical for this sector 82.5% · median of 40
Recovery vs liquidation value414.6%
typical for this sector 127.8% · median of 38
71% of resolutions in this sector recovered more than their liquidation value — this one did.
Time to resolution820 days
typical for this sector 582 days · median of 41
Size rank in sector#1 of 41
Key parties
Resolution Professional
12 IBBI mandates · 282.6% of liquidation value realised across concluded work
IRP at commencement
Vijay Kumar V Iyer· Mar 2018
CIRP initiated by
Aircel Ltd. CD
Resolution applicant
UV Asset Reconstruction Company Limited
About the applicant
UV Asset Reconstruction Company Limited - unlisted public company limited by shares, incorporated 23.08.2007 under the Companies Act, 1956, CIN U74900DL2007PLC167329, registered office at Deepali Building, Nehru Place, New Delhi; authorised capital Rs 50,00,00,000 and paid-up share capital Rs 42,02,50,000; subsisting charge on book debts of Rs 1,00,00,00,000 per the Register of Charges on the MCA portal; ACTIVE-compliant with returns filed upto 31.03.2019.

Get full access

Weekly intelligence digest, RP tracker, live case movement and sector analysis for ARCs, PE funds and resolution professionals.

Apply for access →

That was the whole dossier — nothing held back, because this company is showcased. Every company on stressed.in carries the same depth.

Or buy any single company outright for Rs 1,999 — yours permanently, and credited in full against your first month if you subscribe within 30 days.