We use a session cookie and first-party analytics to run this site — no third-party trackers, no ads. Details in our Privacy Policy.
RESEARCH From the Research Desk — The sub-Rs 100 crore acquisition market, sized. Read it →
Voluntary liquidation · IBC s.59

Southern Bags & Chemicals Private Limited

CIN · U24294TN1981PTC009033 Company Tamil Nadu MCA · Dissolved (Liquidated)

The wind-down at a glance. Follow the recorded outcome, financials and people behind this company.

Process record Dissolution recorded

20 Jan 2023

View process timeline

What did the wind-down return?

Reported financials Rs crore, shown in lakh below Rs 1 crore

Assets realised
Rs 37.00 L
Value realised from assets
Paid to creditors
Not reported
Creditor payout recorded
Surplus to members
Rs 31.00 L
Reported surplus amount

Where the money went

Reported amounts
Some financial figures are missing. A complete proceeds split is not available.
CreditorsNot reported
ExpensesRs 6.00 L
MembersRs 31.00 L

Creditor dues are not reported, so the payout cannot be assessed against them.

All financial figures & reading notes
Amounts as recorded for this voluntary liquidation
Realisation of assetsRs 37.00 L
Amount due to creditorsNot reported
Amount paid to creditorsNot reported
Liquidation expensesRs 6.00 L
Surplus to membersRs 31.00 L

"Not reported" means no figure is available. A reported zero is shown as zero. Registry capital further down the page is separate from liquidation proceeds, and so are any figures read from the NCLT order.

Where this wind-down sits

against every completed s.59 on the register
Time to dissolve1,016 days

398 days slower than the median of 618 days across 1,597 completed wind-downs

Cost of the wind-down16.2% of realisation

the median is 9.5%

Surplus returnedYes

72% of completed wind-downs returned a surplus to members

SizeRs 37.00 L

below the median realisation of Rs 66.00 L

Reading this record

This is a voluntary liquidation under IBC Section 59 — a solvent company choosing to wind up. Creditors are paid in full and costs met before any surplus returns to members; there is no haircut and no acquirer. Read assets realised, creditor payments, expenses and members' surplus separately. Here, Rs 31.00 L in surplus was returned to members.

The NCLT order

Read from the document itself

Bench
Chennai, Division Bench - I
Case number
CP/IB/145(CHE)/2022

Dissolved effective order date

What the bench said

affairs of the Company have been completely wound up and the assets of the Applicant Company have been completely liquidated

Statutory observations

IT Department gave NOC vide letter dated 28.10.2021; ESIC claims settled and acknowledged by ESIC.

date not legible · CP/IB/145(CHE)/2022 · 7 pages Read the order

Why the company wound up

In the order's own words

What it was set up to do
manufacturers, importers, exporters and dealers in all kinds and types of synthetic packaging materials such as High Density poly ethylene bags/ Poly Propylene bags laminated jute bags used as packaging for fertilizers, cereals, cement, salt, chemicals etc.

The wind-down, stage by stage

5 dated stages

1,016 days to dissolve
  1. 10 Mar 2020 Board resolution to wind up
  2. 9 Apr 2020 Liquidation commenced
  3. 10 Apr 2020 Public announcement
  4. 22 May 2020 Preliminary report
  5. 20 Jan 2023 Dissolved

Green marks a date from the IBBI register; blue marks a date read from an NCLT order.

The company behind the record

Identity, registration and capital

MCA status
Dissolved (Liquidated)
Company class
Private
Category
Company limited by shares
Sub-category
Non-government company
Listing
Unlisted
State
Tamil Nadu
ROC
ROC Chennai
Industry
Manufacturing (Metals and Chemicals, and products thereof)
PIN
628005
Incorporated
15 Oct 1981
Authorised capital
Rs 15.00 L
Paid-up capital
Rs 5.11 L
CIN
U24294TN1981PTC009033
Registered office
SPIC ADMINISTRATION MAIN BUILDING, SPICNAGAR,,TUTICORIN-628005,Thoothukudi,Tamil Nadu,628005-India

Directors named in the order

Rathinasabapathi · Muthu Manoharan · Muthukumar Andiappan

Company registry · MCA data as on 12 Jun 2026. Capital figures are shown separately from the wind-down financials.

The money, as the order printed it

Rs as stated in the document — not the crore figures above

Unclaimed proceeds

Out of 12 shareholders of the Applicant Company 3 cheques amounting to Rs.60,826/- returned undelivered and deposited with the IBBI Voluntary Liquidation Account

These are the figures the NCLT order prints, in rupees. The crore figures higher up the page come from IBBI's outcome file. They are different measurements from different sources and are shown separately on purpose — the Cr/Lakh switch does not touch them.

Creditors and claims

As the order records them

Received 9 claims from shareholders before the last date of submission of claims; no claims received from creditors.

Litigation and delays

The frictions the order records

Why it took as long as it did

Liquidation process started during the peak of COVID pandemic

Figures come from IBBI, NCLT, MCA and other official sources. Methodology · Report an error

Keep exploring.

See other companies in the voluntary liquidation register.

All voluntary liquidations