We use a session cookie and first-party analytics to run this site — no third-party trackers, no ads. Details in our Privacy Policy.
RESEARCH From the Research Desk — The sub-Rs 100 crore acquisition market, sized. Read it →
Voluntary liquidation · IBC s.59

Varam Capital Private Limited

CIN · U65993TN1991PTC087497 Company Tamil Nadu MCA · Dissolved (Liquidated)

The wind-down at a glance. Follow the recorded outcome, financials and people behind this company.

Process record Dissolution recorded

9 Jul 2020

View process timeline

What did the wind-down return?

Reported financials Rs crore, shown in lakh below Rs 1 crore

Assets realised
Rs 14.85 Cr
Value realised from assets
Paid to creditors
Not reported
Creditor payout recorded
Surplus to members
Rs 14.73 Cr
Reported surplus amount

Where the money went

Reported amounts
Some financial figures are missing. A complete proceeds split is not available.
CreditorsNot reported
ExpensesRs 12.00 L
MembersRs 14.73 Cr

Creditor dues are not reported, so the payout cannot be assessed against them.

All financial figures & reading notes
Amounts as recorded for this voluntary liquidation
Realisation of assetsRs 14.85 Cr
Amount due to creditorsNot reported
Amount paid to creditorsNot reported
Liquidation expensesRs 12.00 L
Surplus to membersRs 14.73 Cr

"Not reported" means no figure is available. A reported zero is shown as zero. Registry capital further down the page is separate from liquidation proceeds, and so are any figures read from the NCLT order.

Where this wind-down sits

against every completed s.59 on the register
Time to dissolve443 days

175 days faster than the median of 618 days across 1,597 completed wind-downs

Cost of the wind-down0.8% of realisation

the median is 9.5%

Surplus returnedYes

72% of completed wind-downs returned a surplus to members

SizeRs 14.85 Cr

above the median realisation of Rs 66.00 L

Reading this record

This is a voluntary liquidation under IBC Section 59 — a solvent company choosing to wind up. Creditors are paid in full and costs met before any surplus returns to members; there is no haircut and no acquirer. Read assets realised, creditor payments, expenses and members' surplus separately. Here, Rs 14.73 Cr in surplus was returned to members.

The NCLT order

Read from the document itself

Bench
DIVISION BENCH - I, CHENNAI
Case number
CP/1216/2019
Order date
9 Jul 2020

Dissolved effective order date

What the bench said

Affairs of the Company have been completely wound up and assets completely liquidated

9 Jul 2020 · CP/1216/2019 · 9 pages Read the order

Why the company wound up

In the order's own words

Transfer of entire business, assets and liabilities under a Business Transfer Agreement and voluntary liquidation

What it was set up to do
To carry on the business of financial development activities through long term loan, SME loans, housing loans and other forms of lending
What it was doing by the end
Non-Banking Finance Company which transferred all business, assets and liabilities via Business Transfer Agreement

The wind-down, stage by stage

9 dated stages

443 days to dissolve
  1. 23 Apr 2019 Board resolution to wind up
  2. 23 Apr 2019 Declaration of solvency
  3. 23 Apr 2019 Liquidation commenced
  4. 26 Apr 2019 Public announcement
  5. 23 May 2019 Last date for creditors to claim
  6. 11 Sep 2019 Final report filed with the ROC
  7. 11 Sep 2019 Final report filed with IBBI
  8. 9 Jul 2020 NCLT order
  9. 9 Jul 2020 Dissolved

Green marks a date from the IBBI register; blue marks a date read from an NCLT order.

The company behind the record

Identity, registration and capital

MCA status
Dissolved (Liquidated)
Company class
Private
Category
Company limited by shares
Sub-category
Non-government company
Listing
Unlisted
State
Tamil Nadu
ROC
ROC Chennai
Industry
Finance
PIN
600040
Incorporated
9 Sep 1991
Authorised capital
Rs 15.05 Crorder says Rs 107.75 Cr
Paid-up capital
Rs 9.77 Cr
CIN
U65993TN1991PTC087497
Registered office
Plot No. 3726, Door No. 41, 6th Avenue, Q- Block, Anna Nagar,Chennai,Chennai,Tamil Nadu,600040-India

Directors named in the order

Hemalatha Rajan · Venkatesan Suresh

Shareholding as the order states it

MemberShares%
Hemalatha Rajan
Manuel Thangaraj1%
Company registry · MCA data as on 12 Jun 2026. Capital figures are shown separately from the wind-down financials.

The money, as the order printed it

Rs as stated in the document — not the crore figures above

What the company held

Fixed Deposit Account and cash in liquidation account

These are the figures the NCLT order prints, in rupees. The crore figures higher up the page come from IBBI's outcome file. They are different measurements from different sources and are shown separately on purpose — the Cr/Lakh switch does not touch them.

Creditors and claims

As the order records them

No claims were received by the Liquidator

Creditor approval

Not applicable as all assets and liabilities were transferred and company has no creditors

Figures come from IBBI, NCLT, MCA and other official sources. Methodology · Report an error

Keep exploring.

See other companies in the voluntary liquidation register.

All voluntary liquidations