We use a session cookie and first-party analytics to run this site — no third-party trackers, no ads. Details in our Privacy Policy.
RESEARCH From the Research Desk — The sub-Rs 100 crore acquisition market, sized. Read it →
✦ Free showcase case — this company is featured on our homepage, so the full dossier is open. Every case gets this depth for subscribers. see plans →
Home/ Cases/ Other Manufacturing/ Deccan Chronicle Holdings Ltd.
✓ RESOLVED — PLAN APPROVED ● STILL OPERATING · MCA ACTIVE

Deccan Chronicle Holdings Ltd.

Corporate insolvency resolution — resolution plan approved · Jun 2019

Paper & publishing · listed public limited company · incorporated 2002 · 14 years old at admission

Sector Other Manufacturing Bench NCLT Hyderabad CIN L22122TG2002PLC040110 Admitted 05 Jul 2017 Initiated by FC — Canara Bank Last process activity 26 Feb 2018 · plans invited (Form G)
Acquired by
SREI Multiple Asset Investment Trust-Vision India Fund
Named in the NCLT plan-approval order dated 03 Jun 2019, reproduced as printed in that order. · read the order
Where the money went · admission → plan approval
Admitted claimsRs 8,349 Cr
Liquidation valueRs 530 Cr
Realised for creditorsRs 378 Cr
Haircut to creditors: 95.48% Recovery vs liquidation value: 71.2% In plain terms: the published plan figure provides about 5 paise per Rs 1 of admitted claims
Admitted Claims
Rs 8,349.05Cr
#2 of 98 in sector by size
Published plan realisable
Rs 377.69Cr
to claimants
Haircut
95.48%
sector typical 79.3%
Rec vs LV
71.2%
sector typical 116.8%
CIRP Duration
1y 10mo
sector typical 1y 6mo
Beat liquidation?
No
71% of sector did

Intelligence note

Admitted to insolvency on 05 Jul 2017 by the Hyderabad bench, on a petition by Canara Bank (a financial creditor). A resolution plan from SREI Multiple Asset Investment Trust-Vision India Fund was approved on 03 Jun 2019, 698 days after admission (median for resolved cases: 627 days). Creditors realise 4.52% of Rs 8,349.05 Cr admitted claims - a haircut of 95.5% against a median of 77.1% across resolutions. The plan is worth 71.2% of the liquidation value of Rs 530.49 Cr, below what a break-up sale was valued at.
◆ Flagged as the dominant case of the quarter — 26.00% of resolved claims.

Claims at a glance

full split →
FC 98%
OC 2%
Total admitted Rs 8,349.05 Cr

Case details

CIN
L22122TG2002PLC040110
Incorporated
2002
Registered State
Telangana
NCLT Bench
Hyderabad
Petition
IA (IBC) 33, 96 & 231-2020, IA (IBC) 1980-2023, IA (IBC) 363-2022, IA (IBC) 620-
Initiated by
FC — Canara Bank
Commencement
05 Jul 2017
Outcome Date
03 Jun 2019
Admitted Claims
Rs 8,349.05 Cr
Liquidation Value
Rs 530.49 Cr
Realisable Amount
Rs 377.69 Cr
Recovery vs Claims
4.52%
Recovery vs LV
71.2%

NCLT Hyderabad: median 439 days admission → verdict · 38% of concluded matters ended in plan approval (n=348, full record) · all benches →

From the plan-approval order

NCLT order of 03 Jun 2019 · full read →
Plan value, as printed
Resolution Applicant has given undertaking to provide Rs. 408.06 crores. Rs. 350 crores is provided for Financial Creditors and Rs. 6 crores is provided to the Operational Creditors.
Payout horizon
Amount of Rs. 350 crores payable to Financial Creditors Category-A lenders in three tranches (no specific dates/timeline stated in the order).
Performance security
Rs.15.00 Crores (Performance Bank Guarantee bearing No.077019IGPERO001 dated 02.01.2019, from a scheduled commercial bank in favour of Canara Bank; originally valid up to 30.06.2019, subsequently amended/renewed valid u…
Buyer
trust
Market test
1 Form G round · 11 EoIs · 2 plans received · negotiation
Reliefs sought
12 asked · 8 granted · 2 left to the authority · 2 declined
Contested
1 objection / queries ◆ approval subject to an external order

Recent movement

full timeline →
03 Jun 2019
Resolution plan approved
Acquired by SREI Multiple Asset Investment Trust-Vision India Fund
Haircut 95.48%
02 May 2023
NCLT order
11 interlocutory applications decided read the order ↗
23 Jan 2024
NCLT order
08 Jul 2024
Observation (rejection of application in pg case)
02 Apr 2026
Other in pg to cd
NCLAT appeal · 2 interlocutory applications decided read the order ↗

Valuations & recovery

Reg 35 valuations vs outcome
Liquidation value
Rs 530.49 Cr
Recovery vs liquidation value
71.2%

The plan

from the NCLT plan-approval order
Successful applicant
SREI Multiple Asset Investment Trust-Vision India Fund
CoC approval
81.39% voting share
The resolution order · 2019-06-03

Resolution plan approved

L22122TG2002PLC040110 ·
  1. Deccan Chronicle Holdings Limited

Explore the plan, creditor treatment and Tribunal directions.

Extracted order information; consult the linked order for authoritative wording. OCR and extraction can contain errors.

Read the source order ↗

16 sections · All recorded details available below

Plan funding & costs
Total plan funding, as printed
Resolution Applicant has given undertaking to provide Rs. 408.06 crores. Rs. 350 crores is provided for Financial Creditors and Rs. 6 crores is provided to the Operational Creditors.
Payout horizon as printed
Amount of Rs. 350 crores payable to Financial Creditors Category-A lenders in three tranches (no specific dates/timeline stated in the order).
Cirp cost treatment
The CIRP costs including payment to workmen/employees is fully covered under the Plan.
Performance security
Rs.15.00 Crores (Performance Bank Guarantee bearing No.077019IGPERO001 dated 02.01.2019, from a scheduled commercial bank in favour of Canara Bank; originally valid up to 30.06.2019, subsequently amended/renewed valid up to 30.09.2019).
Performance security instrument
BG
Units note
Financial Creditors' claims/voting table printed in absolute INR; plan-value and payment figures elsewhere stated in crores.
Who is owed & what the plan provides4 entries

Financial Creditors' claims/voting table printed in absolute INR; plan-value and payment figures elsewhere stated in crores.

Body of order · 4 rows

StakeholderClaims submittedClaims admittedPlan provisionPercentage & basis
Financial CreditorsCategory-A lendersNot recorded8,180.65 crores (total Financial Creditor claims)350 crores (cash and asset component, payable in three tranches)
Financial CreditorsCategory-B lendersNot recordedNot recordedPermitted to sell non-core assets over which they have exclusive charge and appropriate sale proceeds towards their debt
Operational CreditorsNot recorded154.36 crores6 crores
Financial CreditorFuture Corporate Resources Private Limited (FCRPL)325.00 crores (admitted claim, as alleged by FCRPL)Not recorded3.70 crores (reduced from Rs.7.87 crores offered in earlier plan dated 12.03.2018)
Payment & implementation schedule4 entries
  1. Seq
    1
    Beneficiary
    Financial Creditors Category-A lenders
    Amount as printed
    350 crores
    Timing as printed
    payable in three tranches (specific dates/amounts per tranche not stated in the order)
  2. Seq
    2
    Beneficiary
    Financial Creditors Category-B lenders
    Amount as printed
    proceeds from sale of non-core assets over which they hold exclusive charge (Clause 2.2 of Resolution Plan)
  3. Seq
    3
    Beneficiary
    Operational Creditors
    Amount as printed
    6 crores
  4. Seq
    4
    Beneficiary
    CIRP costs including workmen/employees
    Timing as printed
    fully covered under the Plan
Resolution applicant & funding
Entity type
trust
Business & treatment of stakeholders
Statutory dues
Resolution Applicant exempted from liability to pay tax arrears due by the Corporate Debtor prior to commencement of CIRP; no claim made before the RP by the Income Tax Department till date; other Government-authority tax waivers left for the Resolution Applicant to seek from the concerned authorities.
Operational creditors
Total claims of Operational Creditors admitted by the RP: Rs.154.36 crores; Resolution Professional gave an undertaking to provide Rs.6 crores to Operational Creditors.
Workmen employees
CIRP costs including payment to workmen/employees is fully covered under the Plan.
Guarantors
Clause 11.28 of the Resolution Plan seeks waiver of all Corporate Guarantee given by DCHL for the loans of other entities, including Aviotech Pvt Limited (APL); FCRPL's objection to this clause was not entertained.
Litigation carveout
Clause 3.7.2 of the Resolution Plan states that criminal proceedings against existing promoters and/or shareholders and/or Directors and/or employees of the Corporate Debtor may be continued.
Group entities
DCHL stood guarantor for loans advanced to Aviotech Pvt Limited (APL) and to Future Corporate Resources Limited (FCRL); the debts of DCHL/APL vested with Suhani Trading and Investment Consultants Private Limited (subsequently renamed Future Corporate Resources Private Limited, i.e. FCRPL) following an amalgamation order dated 18.10.2017 (CP No.756 of 2017, NCLT Mumbai Bench).
Going concern status
The Resolution Plan is for revival of the Corporate Debtor Company; the Resolution Applicant is stated to have endeavoured to maximize the value of the assets of the Corporate Debtor and preserve DCHL as a going concern.
Bidding, professionals & process
Interim resolution professional
Karuchola Koteswara Rao
RP replaced the IRP
Yes
Rp replacement date
2018-02-08
Invitations for expressions of interest
  1. Round no
    1
    Form g date
    2018-02-08
    Eoi last date
    2018-04-17
    Expressions of interest received
    11
    Final list count
    2
    Plans received
    2
    Outcome
    plan approved
Applicants considered
  1. Name
    SREI Multiple Asset Investment Trust-Vision India Fund (SMAIT)
    Stage reached
    approved
    Plan value as printed
    Rs. 408.06 crores (undertaking); earlier plan dated 12.03.2018 offered FCRPL Rs.7.87 crores, reduced to Rs.3.70 crores in the final plan submitted to the Tribunal
    Vote pct
    81.39
    Outcome note
    Plan dated 11.12.2018 (revised from an earlier version dated 28.11.2018, and originally further from a plan opened in the 10th CoC meeting on 14.05.2018) approved by CoC via e-voting (13.12.2018-21.12.2018) following the 20th CoC meeting held 10.12.2018.
  2. Name
    Arm Infra & Utilities Private Limited
    Stage reached
    plan_submitted
    Outcome note
    Per the RP's averment, the CoC in its 15th meeting decided its Resolution Plan be dropped from discussion/consideration; per FCRPL's competing account, it failed to submit a plan as per the RFRP and was pulled out of the bidding process.
  3. Name
    Bennett Coleman & Company Ltd
    Stage reached
    final_list
    Outcome note
    Named only in FCRPL's counter as a Resolution Applicant that failed to submit a plan as per the RFRP and was pulled out of the bidding process; not mentioned in the RP's own averments.
Bidding mechanism
negotiation
Clock events
  1. Kind
    extension
    Days
    90
    Reason
    CIRP period extended by 90 days beyond 180 days from 15.01.2018 on RP's application; CIRP period thus ended 14.04.2018.
  2. Kind
    exclusion
    Days
    87
    Granted date
    2018-03-26
    Reason
    Tribunal allowed IA 69 of 2018, excluding the period of 87 days from 21.08.2017 to 16.11.2017 from the total CIRP period prescribed under Section 12; CIRP period then ended 10.07.2018.
  3. Kind
    exclusion
    Granted date
    2018-07-20
    Reason
    NCLAT order dated 20.07.2018 in Appeal (AT)(INS) No.316 and 317 of 2017 excluded the period from 11.12.2017 till 20.07.2018 (stated as '7 months, 8 days') from the CIRP Period; CIRP period accordingly ended 15.02.2019.
Creditor votes38 entries
  1. Creditor
    Andhra Bank
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    4.57
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    3,742,273,435
  2. Creditor
    Axis Bank
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    9.88
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    8,081,364,102
  3. Creditor
    Canara Bank
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    10.11
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    8,271,348,319
  4. Creditor
    Central Bank of India
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    1.30
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    1,061,068,746
  5. Creditor
    Corporation Bank
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    2.35
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    1,922,801,475
  6. Creditor
    Ganga Properties Pvt Ltd
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    0.01
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    9,243,015
  7. Creditor
    Hamilton & Co. Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    0.05
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    36,972,055
  8. Creditor
    HDFC Bank
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    1.17
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    957,720,076
  9. Creditor
    Housing Development Finance Corporation Ltd
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    1.02
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    835,232,877
  10. Creditor
    ICICI Bank
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    11.66
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    9,542,619,075
  11. Creditor
    ICICI Securities Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    0.88
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    720,500,000
  12. Creditor
    IDBI Bank
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    6.71
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    5,490,819,434
  13. Creditor
    IDFC Bank
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    2.42
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    1,979,545,586
  14. Creditor
    IFCI Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    0.42
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    339,906,631
  15. Creditor
    India Bulls Housing Finance Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    2.03
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    1,658,096,289
  16. Creditor
    Indian Overseas Bank
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    1.83
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    1,500,480,808
  17. Creditor
    Jay Shree Tea & Industries Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    0.12
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    94,595,890
  18. Creditor
    Karur Vysya Bank Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    0.94
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    765,811,177
  19. Creditor
    Karvy financial Services Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    1.19
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    976,125,457
  20. Creditor
    Kotak Mahindra Bank
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    2.24
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    1,835,817,779
  21. Creditor
    L&T Finance Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    0.59
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    480,101,706
  22. Creditor
    Life Insurance Corporation of India
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    5.68
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    4,647,339,462
  23. Creditor
    Pegasus Asset Reconstruction Pvt Ltd
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    3.02
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    2,469,096,892
  24. Creditor
    Photon Infotech Pvt. Ltd.
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    0.11
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    93,452,711
  25. Creditor
    Religare Finvest Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    1.74
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    1,424,401,462
  26. Creditor
    Suhani Trading and Investment Consultants Private Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    3.91
    Vote
    for
    Claim admitted as printed
    3,200,265,453
  27. Creditor
    SBI Pension Funds Private Limited (Central Govt. Scheme)
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    0.21
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    170,920,548
  28. Creditor
    SBI Pension Funds Private Limited (State Govt. Scheme)
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    0.21
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    170,920,548
  29. Creditor
    SREI Infrastructure Finance Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    3.63
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    2,969,373,143
  30. Creditor
    Softlink Merchants Private Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    0.01
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    9,118,220
  31. Creditor
    State Bank of India
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    1.11
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    906,745,682
  32. Creditor
    Tata Capital Financial Services Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    2.23
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    1,827,162,573
  33. Creditor
    The Jammu & Kashmir Bank Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    1.03
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    842,289,000
  34. Creditor
    Unilazer Ventures Private Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    0.45
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    364,438,487
  35. Creditor
    UV Asset Reconstruction Co. Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    14.59
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    11,932,096,653
  36. Creditor
    V Shankar
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    0.56
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    457,763,839
  37. Creditor
    Vidhi Sales Private Limited
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    0.02
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    18,629,726
  38. Creditor
    TOTAL
    Creditor class
    financial creditor
    Voting pct
    100
    Vote
    not stated
    Claim admitted as printed
    81,806,458,331
Composition of the committee
37 Financial Creditors constituted the CoC per the List of Creditors last updated 19.11.2018 (total voting share 100%, total admitted FC claims Rs.81,806,458,331 / Rs.8,180.65 crores); plan approved with 81.39% voting share via e-voting window 13.12.2018-21.12.2018 following the 20th CoC meeting held 10.12.2018 (required threshold stated as 66%).
Ownership after resolution
Business & treatment of stakeholders
Reorganization of Share Capital as stated in Clauses 11.14 to 11.16 of the Resolution Plan granted to the Resolution Applicant.
Reliefs requested & Tribunal decisions13 entries
  1. Seq
    1
    Relief
    Financial Creditors Category-B lenders authorized to deal with respective assets of the Corporate Debtor over which they hold exclusive charge, including causing sale of such assets and appropriating sale proceeds (Clause 2.2 of the Resolution Plan)
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    The plan can be approved by granting this relief.
  2. Seq
    2
    Relief
    Exemption from payment of stamp duty arising in implementation of the Plan, including stamp duty on transfer of immovable properties (Clause 11.3)
    Category
    stamp_duty
    Disposition
    deferred_to_authority
    Reason
    It is open to the Resolution Applicant to approach the appropriate authority seeking exemption, and that authority is to consider the waiver as per law.
  3. Seq
    3
    Relief
    Direction to Financial Creditors to withdraw all suits, arbitration or other proceedings filed against the Corporate Debtor for recovery of money (Clause 11.4)
    Category
    litigation_immunity
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    This relief can also be granted in favour of the Resolution Applicant.
  4. Seq
    4
    Relief
    Stop investigation by CBI or SFIO (Clause 11.5)
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    declined
    Reason
    This relief cannot be granted as it is against law; if any fraud is involved in the affairs of the Corporate Debtor prior to commencement of CIRP, any required investigation cannot be prohibited. However, the Resolution Applicant is not concerned with any investigation prior to commencement of CIRP.
  5. Seq
    5
    Relief
    Relief claimed under Clause 11.6 of the Resolution Plan
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    The relief claimed in Clause 11.6 can also be granted.
  6. Seq
    6
    Relief
    Order deeming proceedings in CA 144/CI/2014 in CP No.3/2014 to be abated (Clause 11.7)
    Category
    litigation_immunity
    Disposition
    declined
    Reason
    This relief cannot be granted while approving the Resolution Plan; it is open to the Resolution Applicant to move the concerned court and seek appropriate relief.
  7. Seq
    7
    Relief
    Relief prayed under Clause 11.9 of the Resolution Plan
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    The relief prayed in Clause 11.9 can be granted in favour of the Resolution Applicant.
  8. Seq
    8
    Relief
    Reliefs specifically claimed in Clauses 11.11 to 11.16 of the Plan (including reorganization of Share Capital under Clauses 11.14-11.16)
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    The Resolution Plan can be approved subject to the reliefs specifically claimed in Clause 11.11 to 11.16 of the Plan.
  9. Seq
    9
    Relief
    Direction to permit use of the brand name/trademark of the Corporate Debtor (Clause 11.12)
    Category
    other
    Disposition
    conditional
    Reason
    An Application claiming exclusive right over the brand name/trademarks of the Corporate Debtor was pending; subject to the result of that Application, the Resolution Applicant is entitled to use the brand name/trademark.
  10. Seq
    10
    Relief
    Waiver/exemption of Income Tax claim (Clause 11.13)
    Category
    tax
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    No claim has been made before the RP by the IT Department till date; the Resolution Applicant has nothing to do with tax liability crystallized prior to commencement of CIRP and is exempted from liability to pay tax arrears due by the Corporate Debtor prior to commencement of CIRP.
  11. Seq
    11
    Relief
    Other tax waivers due to Government authorities (beyond Clause 11.13)
    Category
    tax
    Disposition
    deferred_to_authority
    Reason
    It is for the Resolution Applicant to approach the concerned authorities seeking waiver, and the authorities concerned may consider the request.
  12. Seq
    12
    Relief
    Waiver of all Corporate Guarantee given by DCHL for loans of other entities, including Aviotech Pvt Limited (APL) (Clause 11.28)
    Category
    guarantees
    Disposition
    granted
    Reason
    FCRPL's objection seeking deletion of Clause 11.28 was not entertained because FCRPL, a CoC member, had voted in favour of the Resolution Plan which was approved with 81.39% voting share; no relief could be granted as prayed by FCRPL.
  13. Seq
    13
    Relief
    (all reliefs, en bloc)
    Disposition
    deferred_to_authority
    Reason
    The Resolution Applicant is seeking some more reliefs contained in Clause 11 apart from the reliefs discussed above; wherever necessary, relief can be dealt with by any Government authority, and the Resolution Applicant has to approach the concerned authority and seek waiver in pursuance of approval of the Plan.
Section 32A protection
silent
Objections & their outcome1 entries
  1. Objector
    M/s Future Corporate Resources Private Limited (FCRPL)
    Objector class
    financial_creditor
    Ground
    Sought deletion of Clause 11.28 (and related clauses) waiving Corporate Guarantee given by DCHL for the APL/Aviotech Pvt Limited loan; sought recognition as a Secured Creditor per the Tribunal's earlier order dated 17.07.2018 in IA No.224 of 2018; alleged no explanation given for differential treatment (offered Rs.3.70 crores against an admitted claim of Rs.325.00 crores); sought amendment of Schedule 5A to show it as Secured Creditor for FC Category-B; sought a detailed list of properties to be transferred and no-objection certificates from CoC members holding a charge/claim on those properties.
    Ia number
    IA No. 66 of 2019 (counter/objection filed within)
    Disposition
    dismissed
    Effect on approval
    Objection not entertained; the Tribunal held it was not open to FCRPL, having voted in favour of the Resolution Plan as a CoC member, to now seek deletion of Clause 11.28; plan approved as filed.
Clarifications before approval1 entries
  1. Date
    2018-12-10
    What
    In the 20th CoC meeting, the CoC directed the Resolution Applicant (SMAIT) to reconsider certain points and submit a revised Resolution Plan for reconsideration by 11.12.2018.
Tribunal findings & conditions
Approval conditional on external order
Yes
External order ref
Pending Application claiming exclusive right over the brand name/trademarks of the Corporate Debtor; the Resolution Applicant's entitlement to use the brand name/trademark under Clause 11.12 is subject to the result of that Application.
Appellate history
NCLAT order dated 20.07.2018 in Appeal (AT)(INS) No.316 and 317 of 2017 excluded the period from 11.12.2017 to 20.07.2018 (7 months, 8 days) from the CIRP period of this case.
Precedents cited
  1. Case
    Swiss Ribbons Pvt Ltd & Anr Vs Union of India & Ors (Writ Petition (Civil) No.99 of 2018)
    Proposition
    The Resolution Professional is only a facilitator of the Resolution Process, whose administrative functions are overseen by the CoC and the Adjudicating Authority (paras 58, 59, 61).
  2. Case
    Arcelormittal India Private Limited V/s Satish Kumar Gupta & Ors (Civil Appeal Nos.9402-9405 of 2018, dated 4.10.2018)
    Proposition
    The RP is not required to take any decision but merely to ensure plans are complete before placement before CoC; RP must confirm the plan does not contravene the law including Section 29A; Section 30(2)(e) does not empower the RP to decide contravention of law (para 77).
  3. Case
    K. Sashidhar V/s Indian Overseas Bank & Ors (Civil Appeal Nos.10673 of 2018, dated 05.02.2019)
    Proposition
    Section 30(4) power is coupled with a duty of utmost care, caution and reason; fullest attempt should be made to revive the Corporate Debtor rather than mechanically shove it to liquidation (paras 41 & 44).
  4. Case
    State Bank of India v MOR Farms Private Limited (NCLT Chandigarh, dated 15.06.2018)
    Proposition
    Approved waiver of un-crystallized tax/statutory dues for periods previous to approval of the Resolution Plan that may arise in future.
  5. Case
    State Bank of India v Calyx Chemicals & Pharmaceuticals Limited (NCLT Mumbai Bench, dated 16.04.2019)
    Proposition
    Exemption of government liabilities/statutory dues should be restricted to those ascertained and crystallized as on the date CIRP commenced; taxes levied post-moratorium due to CIRP commencement may be considered for waiver (para 12).
  6. Case
    Union Bank of India v Star Agro Marine Exports Private Limited (NCLT Chennai Bench, dated 11.03.2019)
    Proposition
    Statutory dues in the nature of operational debts can be entirely waived off if the assets of the Corporate Debtor are insufficient to meet the value payable to operational creditors under the Section 53 liquidation waterfall; Regulation 37 permits a plan curing/waiving breach of debt terms if compliant with Section 30(2) (para 9).
  7. Case
    Commissioner of Income Tax Vs Monnet Ispat & Energy
    Proposition
    Provisions of the IBC have an overriding effect over all existing laws which are in conflict with the IBC, 2016.
Judicial observations
  1. It is not open to FCRPL to ask for deletion of the Clause 11.28 from the Resolution Plan because it has voted in favour of the Resolution Plan. Without going into the merits of the objections raised by FCRPL, the objection cannot be entertained on the simple ground, it has voted in favour of the Resolution Plan. (p.25-26)
  2. This relief cannot be granted as it is against law. If any fraud is involved in the affairs of Corporate Debtor prior to commencement of CIRP, if any investigation is required, the same cannot be prohibited as the same is against law. (p.24)
Identity & order dates
Companies named in the order
  1. Deccan Chronicle Holdings Limited
Order date
2019-06-03
Further order information
The order records two competing narratives on the fate of the losing Resolution Applicants: the RP's own averment (paras 2.6-2.7, p.7-8) states the CoC's 15th meeting dropped Arm Infra & Utilities' plan from consideration while SMAIT's plan proceeded; FCRPL's counter (para 3.1, p.10) instead states both Bennett Coleman & Company Ltd and Arm Infra & Utilities Private Limited failed to submit compliant plans per the RFRP and were pulled from the bidding process, leaving SMAIT the sole bidder. Both readings recorded per R5; not reconciled here.

EoI / Form-G detail

published 26 Feb 2018
Plan submission by
28 Mar 2018

Case timeline

05 Jul 2017
CIRP commenced
Insolvency proceedings began · NCLT Hyderabad
19 Jul 2017
NCLT order
CP NO IB 41 7 HDB 2017 read the order ↗
14 Sep 2017
NCLAT appeal
CA AT NO 147 2017 read the order ↗
15 Nov 2017
N/a - company appeal at no 110 2017
NCLAT appeal read the order ↗
6 further events in between
25 Jan 2018
NCLT order
CP NO IB 41 7 HDB 2017 read the order ↗
12 Feb 2018
RP
09 May 2019
NCLT order
CP IB NO 41 7 HDB 2017 read the order ↗
03 Jun 2019
Resolution plan approved
Acquired by SREI Multiple Asset Investment Trust-Vision India Fund
Haircut 95.48%
07 Feb 2020
Dismissed-limitation
NCLAT appeal · CA AT INS NO 1091 OF 2019 read the order ↗
20 Apr 2021
Observations
NCLT order · 2 interlocutory applications decided read the order ↗
02 Sep 2022
Dismissed
NCLAT appeal read the order ↗
17 Mar 2023
NCLT order
02 May 2023
NCLT order
11 interlocutory applications decided read the order ↗
23 Jan 2024
NCLT order
08 Jul 2024
Observation (rejection of application in pg case)
02 Apr 2026
Other in pg to cd
NCLAT appeal · 2 interlocutory applications decided read the order ↗
1 year 10 months elapsed · admission → resolution

Company

MCA master · as on 12 Jun 2026
Legal name
DECCAN CHRONICLE HOLDINGS LIMITED
Type
Public · Company limited by shares
Listing
Listed
Incorporated
16 Dec 2002
Authorised capital
Rs 70.00 Cr
Paid-up capital
Rs 55.00 Cr
Industry (MCA)
Manufacturing (Paper and Paper products, Publishing, printingand reproduction of recorded media)
ROC
ROC Hyderabad
Company status
Active — company survived resolution
Registered address
No.36 Sarojini Devi Road,Secunderabad,Telangana,500003-India

Claims profile

creditor-class split
Admitted claims by creditor class
FC 98%
OC 2%
CLASS
ADMITTED
Financial creditors
Rs 8,180.65 Cr
Operational creditors
Rs 168.40 Cr
Total
Rs 8,349.05 Cr

Committee of creditors

As recorded in the plan-approval order of 03 Jun 2019
CreditorClassVoting shareVoteAdmitted, as printed
Andhra Bankfinancial creditor4.57%not stated3,742,273,435
Axis Bankfinancial creditor9.88%not stated8,081,364,102
Canara Bankfinancial creditor10.11%not stated8,271,348,319
Central Bank of Indiafinancial creditor1.30%not stated1,061,068,746
Corporation Bankfinancial creditor2.35%not stated1,922,801,475
Ganga Properties Pvt Ltdfinancial creditor0.01%not stated9,243,015
Hamilton & Co. Limitedfinancial creditor0.05%not stated36,972,055
HDFC Bankfinancial creditor1.17%not stated957,720,076
Housing Development Finance Corporation Ltdfinancial creditor1.02%not stated835,232,877
ICICI Bankfinancial creditor11.66%not stated9,542,619,075
ICICI Securities Limitedfinancial creditor0.88%not stated720,500,000
IDBI Bankfinancial creditor6.71%not stated5,490,819,434
IDFC Bankfinancial creditor2.42%not stated1,979,545,586
IFCI Limitedfinancial creditor0.42%not stated339,906,631
India Bulls Housing Finance Limitedfinancial creditor2.03%not stated1,658,096,289
Indian Overseas Bankfinancial creditor1.83%not stated1,500,480,808
Jay Shree Tea & Industries Limitedfinancial creditor0.12%not stated94,595,890
Karur Vysya Bank Limitedfinancial creditor0.94%not stated765,811,177
Karvy financial Services Limitedfinancial creditor1.19%not stated976,125,457
Kotak Mahindra Bankfinancial creditor2.24%not stated1,835,817,779
L&T Finance Limitedfinancial creditor0.59%not stated480,101,706
Life Insurance Corporation of Indiafinancial creditor5.68%not stated4,647,339,462
Pegasus Asset Reconstruction Pvt Ltdfinancial creditor3.02%not stated2,469,096,892
Photon Infotech Pvt. Ltd.financial creditor0.11%not stated93,452,711
Religare Finvest Limitedfinancial creditor1.74%not stated1,424,401,462
Suhani Trading and Investment Consultants Private Limitedfinancial creditor3.91%for3,200,265,453
SBI Pension Funds Private Limited (Central Govt. Scheme)financial creditor0.21%not stated170,920,548
SBI Pension Funds Private Limited (State Govt. Scheme)financial creditor0.21%not stated170,920,548
SREI Infrastructure Finance Limitedfinancial creditor3.63%not stated2,969,373,143
Softlink Merchants Private Limitedfinancial creditor0.01%not stated9,118,220
State Bank of Indiafinancial creditor1.11%not stated906,745,682
Tata Capital Financial Services Limitedfinancial creditor2.23%not stated1,827,162,573
The Jammu & Kashmir Bank Limitedfinancial creditor1.03%not stated842,289,000
Unilazer Ventures Private Limitedfinancial creditor0.45%not stated364,438,487
UV Asset Reconstruction Co. Limitedfinancial creditor14.59%not stated11,932,096,653
V Shankarfinancial creditor0.56%not stated457,763,839
Vidhi Sales Private Limitedfinancial creditor0.02%not stated18,629,726
TOTALfinancial creditor100%not stated81,806,458,331
37 Financial Creditors constituted the CoC per the List of Creditors last updated 19.11.2018 (total voting share 100%, total admitted FC claims Rs.81,806,458,331 / Rs.8,180.65 crores); plan approved with 81.39% voting share via e-voting window 13.12.2018-21.12.2018 following the 20th CoC meeting held 10.12.2018 (required threshold stated as 66%).
Sources, basis and disclaimers → ·
report an error
This case vs Other Manufacturing
Haircut95.5%
typical for this sector 79.3% · median of 95
Recovery vs liquidation value71.2%
typical for this sector 116.8% · median of 92
71% of resolutions in this sector recovered more than their liquidation value.
Time to resolution698 days
typical for this sector 567 days · median of 97
Size rank in sector#2 of 98
Key parties
Resolution Professional
21 IBBI mandates · 91.6% of liquidation value realised across concluded work
IRP at commencement · replaced
Karuchola Koteswara Rao · Jul 2017
◆ RP changed during CIRP — IRP was replaced
CIRP initiated by
Canara Bank FC
Resolution applicant
SREI Multiple Asset Investment Trust-Vision India Fund

Get full access

Weekly intelligence digest, RP tracker, live case movement and sector analysis for ARCs, PE funds and resolution professionals.

Apply for access →

That was the whole dossier — nothing held back, because this company is showcased. Every company on stressed.in carries the same depth.

Or buy any single company outright for Rs 1,999 — yours permanently, and credited in full against your first month if you subscribe within 30 days.